The Holiday Season is Here!

Finally, my first blog post and I’m late! I created this blog in August and it’s now Thanksgiving! Whoops! Well to start off, I want to show off my first pumpkin I ever carved for Halloween. Well I had a teeny bit help from my mom…

Boo!
The right hand was about to fall off, but good thing you can’t tell.

And here are some of Laura Vitale’s chocolate chip cookies I made for the church Thanksgiving Day potluck on Sunday. She says the key ingredient is shortening. It gives the cookie that crispy first bite, but it’s soft and cakey later. Here’s the recipe if you want to give it a try.

Putting these babies in the fridge before baking, makes them stay nice and chunky instead of flat like discs.
Putting these babies in the fridge before baking, makes them stay nice and chunky instead of flat like discs.

Fast forward to today, the holiday season is officially here! The Christmas songs are on the radio, and the driving has gotten crazier with people rushing to get things done before the sun goes down (I’m not sure daylight “savings” is really saving us any daylight).

I also got the chance to watch Big Hero 6! I don’t want to give anything away, but Disney has done it again! The creative juices of these people just keep me at the edge of my seat!  And I don’t know if I’m too sensitive, but a couple scenes made me cry, heck the short before the movie made me cry! Even the little boy sitting next to my mom had a few sniffles.

FYI If you're using the amc gold/silver ticket, they were going to charge an extra $2 after 4pm! Hopefully this doesn't apply to everywhere.
FYI If you’re using the amc gold/silver ticket, they were going to charge an extra $2 after 4pm! Hopefully this doesn’t apply to all locations.

But I’m glad I watched the movie before Thanksgiving tomorrow because… I have to work the 3-11pm shift. That’s right folks, this will be my first time working on Thanksgiving. I was making a big deal out of it, I mean don’t I deserve my holiday too? And the truth is I don’t. My attitude of thinking I deserve certain things in life just shows how selfish I am. I mean everything I’ve been blessed with has been given to me from God, and it’s definitely not because of my good works. It’s because of His love and most importantly the righteousness that I have through Jesus Christ. This is going to sound cliché, but the only way I could respond is to share this love with others, especially with my residents and fellow CNAs. And I’ll admit it, watching Bay Max be selfless and care for his patients made me want to do my best for my patients tomorrow! Thank you God! And thank you Bay Max! I’ll make sure to ask my patients, “are you satisfied with your care?”, and I’ll do my very best to make sure they are x].

Leave a Reply

