Night Time Skincare Routine

Follow my blog with Bloglovin
Night time skincare products

Growing up my mom would constantly say, “You’re a girl, and you need nice soft skin. You’ll thank me later when you’re older”. As a toddler, I would try to escape from being smothered in sticky lotion (especially sunscreen), but we all know moms are too fast. Before I knew it, I was sticky all over. Fast forward to the present day, my mom rubs it in every now and then by saying “Aren’t you glad I took great care of your skin?” Yes, mom thank you. And now, I have my own skincare routine I would like to share with you.

As a premise, my skin is sensitive with occasional breakouts and itchy rashes (especially if the outside elements were a bit strong that day).

IMG_0209

Origins “A Perfect World Antioxidant Cleanser with White Tea” This cleanser is perfect for sensitive skin and it removes harmful radicals and impurities that your skin obtains throughout the day. The cleanser is creamy and lathers up pretty well. It doesn’t leave your skin tight and dry, but rather hydrated and smooth.

Origins “Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask to Clear Pores” My biggest pet peeve with skin is trapped sebum in your pores. So I put this charcoal mask on my nose once a week, and it sucks up all that nasty sebum out of there. After about 15 minutes, I wash it off and my nose looks more radiant and most importantly, unclogged! Of course, you could use it all over your face, but I find it a bit stringent for the rest of my face and only apply it to my troublesome area.

St. Ives Blemish Control Apricot Scrub I exfoliate my face 3x a week. The scrub gently removes dead skin and impurities, leaving my skin smooth and ready to absorb oils and lotions.

The Body Shop’s Vitamin E Hydrating Toner I’ve been using a toner for the past two years, and my what a difference it makes. This toner contains no alcohol, so it doesn’t dry/sting your skin. After cleansing my face, I pour a bit onto a cotton pad and swipe it all over my face and neck. The toner leaves my skin hydrated and removes any dirt and cleanser that wasn’t removed (and let me tell you the cotton pad reveals the residues!)

IMG_0205

Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins Mega-Bright Dark Circle Minimizer Thanks to my dad, I genetically have dark circles and I have come to accept that I could never get rid. However, it doesn’t stop me from trying to improve their appearance a bit. This eye cream is the best one by far. In about two weeks, I saw improvement in my dark circles and my undereye skin tone. It can be applied am/pm. The cream does not sting my eyes, it instantly absorbs into the skin, and it contains a shimmery substance (which is apparently extracted from various flowers).

Josie Maran 100% Pure Argan Oil This oil is what keeps those itchy dry patches of skin at bay! Over time, I saw improvements in skin tone, scars from blemishes, and smoothness. It has healing, conditioning, and anti-aging properties, and is suited for all skin types. Argan oil could also be applied to the rest of the body and on the hair to treat/prevent split ends.

The Body Shop’s Tea Tree Blemish Fade Night Lotion Last but not least, this tea tree lotion was a recent find. I am surprised at how fast I saw the results of this night lotion treatment. Many of the reviews claim that this lotion prevented and stopped cystic pimples from growing. Fortunately, I had two cystic pimples to test this product on. So, I applied the lotion after the argan oil has fully absorbed and within two nights, the redness and inflammation reduced and in about a week, it diminished. That’s the fastest I’ve ever seen a cystic pimple disappear! In addition, it left my skin super soft and supple in the morning. The only con is that it has a bit a tree bark scent, but the scent doesn’t linger at all. My bf also tried the actual tea tree oil from the Body Shop, and he would like to say it diminished his pimples as well.

There you have it folks, my night time skincare routine. I hope you find some of these products useful, and I wish you all happy, healthy skin! ^.^

Leave a Reply

