Exploring L.A.

Beaudry LoopHello peeps! Long time no see! Sorry for the delay, but May was madness folks. My family and I were frantically moving out within a span of 3-4 days. That was really stressful and difficult considering we were moving from a big house to a much smaller house (while still working during the day too). It also caused one to realize how much stuff one can keep in a house…it was A LOT. I’m considering being minimalistic now, but that is a whole other blog post.

We’re for the most part, settled– praise the Lord! And perfect timing too! My boyfriend was in town, and stayed with me for a bit. Now this is obviously where the exploring L.A. takes place. We were on a time crunch, since I was working part of the day, but we still managed to enjoy what L.A. had to offer. So let’s get into it!

Hiking Beaudry Loop, Verdugo Mountains The featured image above shows the view you get at the highest elevation (1,368ft). You could see downtown L.A. in the far back right of the picture. You also get a good view of the San Gabriel Mountains. The trail is in excellent condition and it’s a good 3 hour workout (without breaks probably 2.5 hours). We hiked around 4pm, which I think is a good time if you want to hike later in the day. We also saw some pretty wild flowers on the way =). The Modern Hiker blog gave awesome tips for this trail. We followed his advice on taking the north road first. That saved us a lot of sun-in-the-face type situations. Thank you Modern Hiker! For more details on the Beaudry Loop and tips for this trail, check out the Modern Hiker here.

Yellow wild flowers          Purple wild flowers

Old Mill, San Marino This is a cute little place if you’re in the South Pasadena/ San Marino area and need to pass some time. It’s a historic landmark from the missionary era, when the Spaniards were building missionaries all along California in the 1800s. The mill was built for the San Gabriel Mission, but according to the tour guide wasn’t engineered efficientl. So it got passed on to a few wealthy families and renovated into a country club. Finally, it was given to the city as a historic landmark. The Old Mill has beautiful groves of pomegranate and various citrus trees, and a few rose covered benches that provide shade in the afternoon. Events can also be booked at the Old Mill like weddings and concerts. I snapchatted most of my time there, so all I have are these photos…lessoned learned, just save everything. You could visit the Old Mill website to discover more about this hidden gem.

Old MillMe at Old Mill

Aquarium of the Pacific, Long Beach I haven’t been to this aquarium in 10 years and a lot has changed. It’s a decent sized aquarium, good for 2-3 hours of discovery and fun. I got the tickets for a discounted price through Ralph’s supermarket for $20 instead of the original price of $28. The jellyfish exhibit was currently on display, and we were able to pet some moon jellies! They felt like wet gelatin. Unfortunately, we weren’t allowed to take pictures of the jellies, so we just took photos of other sea critters. We also were able to pet some baby sharks. WARNING: I was using the two-finger stroke suggested by the aquarium workers, and I almost got bit by a hammerhead shark o.o! Maybe I stroked it in the wrong place. Sorry baby hammerhead! But anyways, my favorite exhibit was the sea otters. I love sea otters! Not only are they cute and adorable, but also a keystone species. I even got a sea otter souvenir from one of those penny machines, which adds another penny to my collection! =D If you plan to visit during the school year, go around 2pm to avoid kid traffic.

Sea horse           Turtle

sea otter coinLocal Farmers Market I also got a chance to visit my local farmer’s market. Nowadays, cities are hosting their own farmer’s market. It’s a great way to get fresh, organic produce and support your local farmers! I’m glad it’s becoming popular, and I hope it’s here to stay. Here is list of local farmers markets all around L.A. Find one near you!

farmer market 1         farmer market 2

farmer market 3

Kayaking at UCLA Marina Aquatic Center, Marina del Rey My friend invited me to join her for kayaking. She is currently a UCLA student, so she was able to take me as a guest. I only paid $5! How was I not aware of this during my time there? Well better now than never, and boy did I have fun! I forgot how much I love the ocean breeze on my face and the sea water on my skin, not to mention the natural exfoliation that comes with it xP. And, I saw a seal! His little head and tail kept popping out of the water. Besides soaking up the nature scene, the center is clean and well kept. They have a locker for your personal items and, a nice, spacious changing area is located at the back as well. They also provide other activities like sailing and paddle boarding. So if you’re in the area and have some time to spare, go check it out!

ucla mac  kayaking ucla mac

I hope you find these places to be a nice getaway from the hustle and bustle of L.A. city life. Please bare with me as I try to figure out how you can comment without having an account. In the meantime, let me know what gems you find in your city too! And remember to follow me on bloglovin! Until next time peeps!

Leave a Reply

