Pinkies Up, It’s Tea Time!

Tea Time

With the chilly weather nipping at my nose and toes, it’s that time of the year to snuggle up in a cozy sweater with a cup of tea in my hands. Ah, that’s the life people! Warm hands, warm tummy, and the sweet and spicy aromatic tea leaves enveloping the olfactory bulbs and tastes buds (que sigh of content).

“What kind of tea you sippin'” you ask? Well with some experimentation and the resources available to the common folk (the supermarket and Trader Joe’s), I found a couple of tea blends that would delight the senses and help you kick it back for a bit.

English Breakfast Tea

Vanilla and Cinnamon Black Tea

I usually love to drink a black tea to start my day. There’s the traditional English Breakfast Tea and the seasonal Vanilla and Cinnamon Black Tea, both of which are from Trader Joe’s. I prepare the tea with a bit of soy milk, but no sugar. However, I do pair black teas with a McVitie’s Digestives biscuit. I know it’s very,very British but when the youtuber clothesencounters mentioned it in her favorites one time, I just had to try it. As clothesencounters has mentioned, dunking the biscuit into the tea really does bring out the sweetness from the biscuit. I absolutely love dunking any sort of cookie,biscuit, or bread into a hot cup of anything, and this pairing has made it to the top of my list!

McVitie's Digestives

Dunking

Candy Cane Green Tea

Another favorite seasonal blend from Trader Joe’s is the Candy Cane Green Tea: Decaffeinated. This one really gives your olfactory senses a pleasant surprise. Before you even start brewing your tea, take a whiff of the tea envelope. If you could put all the smells of Christmas into one scent, this would be it! I love it! I wish they had a candle (preferably soy of course) in this scent. I also have the perfect pairing that goes with the Candy Cane Green Tea: chocolate canestrelli. It’s a Italian chocolate wafer biscuit. Combined together, you have a mint chocolate chip party going on in your mouth. And if a chocolate canestrelli is out of the question for you, any piece or dark chocolate will do.

Christmas scent

Chocolate Canestrelli

Finally, there’s no better way to unwind your day than with Celestial Seasonings’ Sleepytime tea. It’s a blend of chamomile, spearmint, and lemongrass that calms the senses making you ready to hit the sack. Out of all the teas, I think Sleepytime has the most sweetness that naturally comes from the herbs. I’m not saying it’s like dessert, but it definitely has a tad bit more than a subtle sweetness to it. With that said, it’s a great way to curb my sugar cravings at night without feeling like I’m starving myself from a sweet treat.

Sleepytime tea

So grab your favorite mug, brew a cup of tea, and enjoy! I hope you find these teas to be a lovely treat as I did. And be sure to tend to yourself by taking the time for tea time. Pinkies up peeps! Let me know your favorite teas or drinks in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

