Birthday Wishes

It’s been a while…

I’ve been writing lots and lots of papers for grad school, so when I had time to write a blogpost…let’s face it people, I just wanted to be a coach potato, maybe a sweet potato coach, I prefer those potatoes.

Anyways, so what do I owe this blogpost to? It’s a no brainer. My dad! It’s his birthday today! When birthdays of late loved ones come around the corner, I don’t know what people do, or if they do anything at all, but I ask myself why do I even bother? What’s the point if my dad is gone? Yet, I have this urge inside of me that says why not? My dad is still my dad, dead or alive.

Family 3 - K
My dad and my brother’s kindergarten graduation.
Family 8 - T.jpg
Me and my dad. His beard always tickled me, and still did when I got older too.

But maybe a more practical reason for this urge could be explained by a mental health concept. According to Worden’s Four Tasks of Mourning, the fourth tasks states that after some time, an individual would want to find an ongoing connection in their emotional lives with the person that died. This connection would also continue to evolve and change throughout life.

IMG_1202.JPG
A very rare photo of my dad and mom. (My dad was usually taking the pictures)

Well, I guess this means I want to stay connected with my dad. And the more I think about it, the more it makes sense. Since the gospel gives me hope through the conquering of the grave in Jesus Christ, I know death is not the end of the road for my dad. I’ll see him again. I don’t know when, but I do know it’s not forever.

Until then, I’ll keep saying Happy Birthday Dad!

Dad at work-p1.jpg

One thought on “Birthday Wishes

Leave a Reply

